Sea Sand Surf

Posted: April 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Like most surfers I have a love affair with the sport that runs deeper than my passion for almost anything else in my life.  I have been surfing for 20 years and the lure of the ocean has not dimmed in the least.  My courtship with surfing has outlasted many of my friendships.  Love affairs have come and gone.  I have gone to school, landed jobs, gone back to school, changed careers and still I surf.  My hair has been long, my hair has been short (now it is half gray) and still I surf.  I have gone organic, lifted weights, done yoga, been a vegetarian, driven across the country and spent weeks sitting in my backyard and still I surf.  Surfing has been a constant.  I have never met a person who has told me that they have “quit surfing.”  No one ever says, “yeah, I used to be a surfer.”  At least no one I have met.  And the same can be said for me.

And so this blog is designed as a place for surfers to come and be surfers when there are no waves.  I do not expect that it will fulfill that magical compartment that can only be filled in a surfer by the actual act that we cherish so much, but it can be place where we share our experiences.  Let’s face it, if you are a surfer than you know that there are trials and tribulations associated with staying in the game.  It is not easy to find the time, to keep the commitment and to chase the stoke with a dogged relentlessness that cannot be explained to people who do not surf.

But if you are a surfer than you know too, that you have come across something special that is worth the effort.  You know that the act of surfing has the power to inform your individuality, your relationships and the manner in which you relate to the world around you in a way that is utterly and hopelessly unique.  To that end we can explore these things and more and that is what Sea Sand Surf is for.

Leave a Reply

