Surf Check (Head Check)

Posted: May 5, 2010 in Surf Check
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I must admit I am bummed.  The weather feels like summer and for two days we have been blessed with a nice south swell.  I am sure many of the Jersey crew can attest to that, because every time I looked at the Surfline camera from my computer at work I saw you picking them off in Belmar.  

The closest I was able to get was snapping a few quick photos at one of my favorite beachies as I was running off to an evening meeting.  Don’t get me wrong, I feel very grateful that I was able to cruise past the ocean for even that short moment, as I know there are many people who do not even get that.  Still, I would be lying if I did not say that I was kicking myself.  

An Early Evening Peeler

This frustration at not getting wet is very valid.  Like most surfers the ocean is my refuge and it brings me solitude and peace.  It is also a great workout and surfing gives me the chance to put it all in perspective.    

The good news is that reports look somewhat positive for a Saturday surf.  We have a chance to see a few 3 footers and some favorable winds.  I am keeping the stoke alive and will continue to monitor via Magicseaweed.  I have the 7s Superfish waxed and ready to go.  

Sea Sand Surf has some cool things on the horizon too.  I have an interview slated with Ann Coen, one of the preeminent surf photographers in New Jersey.  Keep your eye out for that as I will get her take on the East Coast scene, New Jersey rippers and I will look to showcase some of her awesome work for those who are unfamiliar with it. 

Brother Dan is traipsing off into the woods and I will have an interview with him coming soon too.  For those who do not know him, he is a classic adventurer, an all around great surfer and a trip and a half.  Stoked to get him on board. 

The last note I will share is that, while I did not get to surf (kook), I did get a moment of peace from our beloved ocean.  So I implore you to protect our beaches, stay informed and save the waves. 

Breathe In...

Thanks for spending your time checking in.  It means the world.  Stay stoked.

Comments

Leave a Reply

