A Couple of Days With Waves

Posted: May 20, 2010 in Surf Gear, waves
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

New Jersey just had a couple of fun days of surf.  I missed the better part of it, which was yesterday, due to obligations.  That is the bad news.  The good news is that I was able to get a few waves today in Avon and it was great.  Surfed with a cool local by the name of Ed.  He rode a similar old school board to Big Red, which you can read about in earlier posts.  Ed definitely had his old log moving. 

While I could not fit a surf in yesterday, I was able to snap a few late evening photos which follow.  It was glassy, waist to chest high and it looked like a good time was had by all.

A Little Left

 

As far as water temperature goes the winter gear is officially falling away.  I was in my Xcel Superlight which is a 3mm with boots and gloves and I felt fine.

In unrelated news we can now watch the devastation produced by the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico via streaming video.  It is not hours of entertainment, however it does help put the problem in perspective.  I have not decided if this is perverse or intellectually astute.  You be the judge. 

Thanks for checking in.

 

Comments
  1. Jerseyfresh says:

    When do we get to see M surfing? I’m checkin’ the surf report- looks like I might get some time in the wet stuff here in Cali….

  2. Mike howell says:

    thanks for the info on the oil spill.

Leave a Reply

